NIFA Program Leader
Dr. Steven Thomson
Position/Title: National Program Leader
Office: Division of Agricultural Systems
Email: Steven.J.Thomson@nifa.usda.gov
Location: 3328 Waterfront Centre
Maine Ave and 9th St SW
Washington, D.C.
Phone Number: (202) 401-6301
Fax Number: (202) 401-5179
Visiting

Visitors are welcome at the USDA UV-B Monitoring and Research Program offices. If you would like to visit, please contact Rita Deike by phone at (970) 491-3600, or by email at rita.deike@colostate.edu. Please call or email so that we will be ready for your visit.

Location

The USDA UV-B Monitoring and Research Program offices are located right by campus on the east side of Shields street, between Prospect Road and Elizabeth Street in Fort Collins. We are located about 60 miles north of Denver, Colorado.

Our physical address is:

USDA UV-B Monitoring and Research Program, CSU
1304 South Shields Street,
Fort Collins, Colorado 80521-4528

Our mailing address is:

UV-B Project, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory
1499 Campus Delivery, CSU
Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1499

Affiliated Facilities

The Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory is an interdisciplinary ecology research and teaching unit at Colorado State University. NREl's mission is to improve understanding of the complex interactions between ecosystems, humans, and management activities. A center of excellence in ecosystem science since 1969.


The Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center is a joint center between the University of Maryland Departments of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science, Geology, and Geographical Sciences. ESSIC was initiated under a Cooperative Agreement with the Earth Sciences Directorate at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC), the collaboration under which continues to today. The major research thrusts of the center are studies of Climate Variability and Change, Atmospheric Composition and Processes, the Global Carbon Cycle (including Terrestrial and Marine Ecosystems/Land Use/Cover Change), and the Global Water Cycle.


Soil-Plant-Atmosphere-Research (SPAR) Facility is a controlled environment research facility located on the Mississippi State University's campus. SPAR has a set of ten outdoor naturally-lit chambers, with computer control of the environmental factors. This facility was established in 1977 and has since been used for determining plant responses to a variety of environmental factors.


The United States Department of Agricultural(USDA) provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management.
Their vision is to provide economic opportunity through innovation, helping rural America to thrive; to promote agriculture production that better nourishes Americans while also helping feed others throughout the world; and to preserve our Nation's natural resources through conservation, restored forests, improved watersheds, and healthy private working lands.


Project Staff

Dr. Gao's picture Dr. Wei Gao
Director of USDA UV-B Monitoring Research Program and Center of Remote Sensing and Modeling for Agriculture Sustainability, professor in the Ecosystem Science and Sustainability department
Phone: 970 491-3609
Email: wei.gao@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Read Bio



Dr Davis's picture
Dr. John Davis
Research Scientist, UV climatology, radiative transfer modeling, and UV measurement applications
Phone: 970 491-3613
Email: john.davis@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Read Bio



Dr Sun's picture Dr. Zhibin Sun
Research Scientist, data assimilation theories and algorithm development
Phone: 970 491-3608
Email: zhibin.sun@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Read Bio



Dr Davis's picture Dr. Michael B. Coughenour
Senior Research Scientist/Scholar, Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, UV data analysis and applications, ecological and economic modeling development
Phone: 970 491-5572
Email: michael.coughenour@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Read Bio



Dr Zempila's picture Dr. Melina Zempila
Research Scientist, Solar radiation transfer in the atmosphere-Model assimilations, Measurements of solar radiation
Phone: 970 491-3614
Email: melina.zempila@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Read Bio






Maosi Chen picture Dr. Maosi Chen
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, UV impacts on plant litter decomposition and in-situ calibration
Phone: 970 491-3604
Email: maosi.chen@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Read Bio



Rita Deike's picture Rita Deike
Office Manager
Phone: 970 491-3600
Email: rita.deike@colostate.edu


Read Bio



Karen Adleman's picture Karen Adleman
Accounting Technician
Phone: 970 491-3602
Email: karen.adleman@colostate.edu


Read Bio



George Janson's picture George Janson
Research Associate, site operations, instrumentation calibration, and project management
Phone: 970 491-3621
Email: george.janson@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Read Bio



Bill Durham's picture Bill Durham
Research Associate, site operations, instrumentation calibration
Phone: 970 219-2590
Email: bill.durham@colostate.edu


Read Bio



Scott Simpson picture Scott Simpson
Research Associate, site operations, instrumentation calibration
Phone: 970 491-3622
Email: scott.simpson@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Read Bio



Becky Olson's picutre Becky Olson
Research Associate, programming, web page and database administration
Phone: 970 491-3620
Email: becky.olson@colostate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Read Bio



Jonathan Straube's picture
Jonathan Straube
Research Associate, Computer System Administration
Phone: 970 491-3607
Email: jonathan.straube@colostate.edu
Read Bio



Affiliated Scientists




Bill Parton's picture Dr. William J Parton
Senior Research Scientist, Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, Ecosystem modeling, and development of DayCent-UVB model
Phone: 970 491-1987
Email: william.parton@colostate.edu

Read Bio


Dr. Raja Reddy's picture Dr. Raja Reddy
Research Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences, Mississippi State University
Phone: 662 325-9463
Email: krreddy@pss.msstate.edu



Read Bio



Xin-Zhong Liang's picture Dr. Xin-Zhong Liang
Professor, Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science, University of Maryland
Phone: 301 405-6300
Email: xliang@umd.edu
Read Bio



Graduate Students



Zigeng Chen's picture Zigeng Chen
Master's student in Graduate Degree Program in Ecology

Email: zigeng.chen@rams.colostate.edu



Read Bio